top of page

Mamie (Elegy)

Mamie is an affectionate term for grandmother used by young children in French.

When we landed in Heathrow, after being strapped

into a plane for nine hours, I was filled with excitement.

Heathrow meant that we were only one hour away from you.

Ever since I spent two months of my summer with you and Papy,

I couldn't wait to spend more with you in Belgium.

I loved cooking with you, learning how to crochet,

playing with the beloved border collier and the two cats.

I especially enjoyed the love and care you showed me.

After those two months, I felt that we were closer than ever.

You didn't get to see me all the time, since we lived in different parts of the world. When we were together, we talked all the way through night and into the morning. Stories of when you were younger and taking care of your seven other siblings. Stories of how you met Papy. Stories of my father and my aunt and uncle when they were young.

Then you weren't feeling well. We were all surprised.

You cooked at home and never ate out. You ate exceptionally healthily, using homegrown vegetables and only the best quality of foods.

You led your friends on long hikes and were always in shape.

So why did cancer choose you? Of all the people in the world, why did cancer choose to fall upon you? Someone with a perfect lifestyle,

with everything they could ever need and want at the age of 69.

You underwent chemotheraphy.

Your head had been shaved.

Your condition worsened. I couldn't recognize you in the pictures.

The therapy was not working.

I never saw you again. I never saw you in the hospital.

Perhaps that was a good thing.

I don't think I could have handled it.

The last time I saw you, we were in Belgium for a few days.

I can't help but to remember waving to you, thinking,

"Until next summer, Mamie. I can't wait."

That summer never came. You were diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and on May 24th, 2015,

You passed away.

A loving grandmother. Someone who I just got to know.

Someone whom I loved immensely in so little time.

You were incredibly thoughtful. You remembered the things that I loved, even though I was the grandchild you knew the least.

You were so proud of all that I could do. You reminded me that you were proud. You taught me all the little things you loved to do, because you loved to share the joys of life with me.

Until next summer, Mamie. I can't wait.


bottom of page